RSD Outreach awareness

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

RSD Outreach awareness
RSD Outreach awareness
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My Life With RSD.............by catiean

Go down

My Life With RSD.............by catiean Empty My Life With RSD.............by catiean

Post  byrd45 Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:48 am

Recommend Delete Message 1 of 2 in Discussion

From: catiean (Original Message) Sent: 11/7/2006 12:20 AM
Hi Everyone. Thank you Robyn for asking me to join this group. Like all of you, I too, had a very active normal life. I was a registered nurse for 32 yrs working in Pediatic Intensive Care and Pediatric Oncology. I played raquetball two to three times a week with my husband, ran, biked, hiked, roller bladed. We played on a jack and jill softball team, etc. I did medical trips to other countries and have four adult children and soon to be five grand daughters.

I was at work during a code to stabilize a young boy and the emergency equipment I was carrying and running with was faulty. The dome shape lid popped off and hit the floor just as I was stepping down on slick linoleum. I slid across the floor twisting my rt knee back and forth then landed with all my weight going forward on my right knee cap.

Being under workman's comp it took three months before they would okay even an arthoscope to repair the damage. Luckily I had only sheared off the anterior cartilage protecting my kneecap from rubbing across the top of the fibula. I could go back to work in 6 weeks. Well that was 3 1/2 yrs ago. I ended up in a knee brace and on crutches for over a year before i graduated to a cane. My right leg does not work well---the quads don't fire and give out at times. My quads and knee are always swollen and used to change colors. That only happens occasionally now but it is very cold most of the day especially if i am active.